The Creative Spot 5


1.Tells us some background information,your education,what you do, how long you’ve been doing it.
 
Born in Edinburgh, I studied Design and Typo for print ad Telford College before finding out two things. I had no money and not experience in the field yet! So I retreated into work that would pay for a while (the financial Services industry).  Before I knew it 10 years had passed! Only last year I decided I really wanted to return to my first love Graphic Art. I stated at looking at an image of the Chrysler Building for a room in my house and thought. Hey I really enjoyed creating an image that fitted in to our home. This lead to …Can I produce original Images for homes and offices using new and existing canvas printing techniques? I found out I could! I can also create bespoke T-shirts/gifts ect through a number of sites including cafe press. the biggest challenge is to make a living out of it!
So Far I have had a few bespoke sales of gifts. But yet an unable to work full time at this.

florida_050808_0190-2

 

2.What made you become an artist/designer?

Always loved graphic art / Design from comic books to some of the more traditional artists. I’ve always wanted to make an impact on our surroundings from when I was a child. 
3.In the beginning of your career how did you market yourself?
Not as well as I hoped! I’ve mainly used old style social networking (friend telling friend ect) and have a few spaces dotted around the web (just Google me!) I’ve also become part of Creative Fife a Collection of businesses across the Arts industry in Fife (www.Creativefife.co.uk).  

freezingfog1-1
4.What tools do you use, software and hardware?
I have an 8.1 mp camera to take shots that I will use as the basis of my images some of my older work was harvested from the internet that I then made over in my own style. I use Photoshop CS3  for most of my work but have been known to to try a few of the more interesting freeware/shareware packages that can to some interesting things with a raw jpeg! I have a PC, pretty bog standard fare really…
5.How do you manage the business side?
Unfortunately I need to do most my creative work outside office hours!  so I don’t get as much time to talk business to business! Advertising my services is very minimal at the moment but if I can afford it I will start looking into breaking out of the web an into shops.
haratio1-2
6.where and how do you get inspiration to design?
I Take a lot photographs, the stronger the image the better, but I see good design everywhere. Magazines landscapes, shop fronts, even wallpaper (see dandelion clocks.)

7.what is some advice you can give to people just starting out?

Do what feels right for you at the right time, take time to establish what makes you different. If money’s tight find friends that will help out!
Thank you Peter for taking the time and sharing.
Leave a Reply

